7 Comments

I think only the people who are extremely on Twitter really care. The graphic showing its relative importance and use versus other platforms is telling. I won't miss it.

Expand full comment
Nov 15, 2022Liked by Steve Safran

Racism aside, I think it is fucking hilarious. Exposing Musk as just the latest in the line of entitled rich boys is delicious. The fact that he seems to step on a rake daily only makes it sweeter.

Expand full comment
Nov 15, 2022Liked by Steve Safran

Okay, I’ll bite. Musk should back the heck out and - in exchange for a healthy write-off - donate the platform to a nonprofit, actual nonpartisan news organization. I think that that is the only play he has without ruining the platform or allowing it to become a lame version of 4chan. 🤷🏼‍♂️

Expand full comment
author
Nov 15, 2022·edited Nov 15, 2022Author

Twitter's publicity is outsized compared to its user base. As a social platform, Twitter's not even in the top ten (It's 15th). But the voices on there are so outrageous that they are amplified by other media, both traditional and digital. Twitter seems to set the tone, even though the tone is awful and best ignored.

Expand full comment

I genuinely hope it can be saved, but I (just as genuinely) hope Elon isn’t the one to save it. Maybe he backs out, sells it off, and someone else can come in and be a better steward for the app. I’ve checked out a couple other similar places and it’s not the same. Hope it sticks.

Expand full comment